A Word in Praise of T-Mobile #amwriting @TMobile

T-Mobile
What T-Mobile has to do with writing:

I write in coffee shops. A lot. While I usually choose Starbucks and its excellent WiFi, at least weekly I go to a shop with unreliable or non-existent WiFi. Without WiFi, RescueTime isn’t tracking me and keeping me honest. So, yes, a reliable mobile data connection is important while I’m writing.

I switched to T-Mobile from Verizon, primarily for lower cost and better international service. It’s delivered on the cost and the international, but I’ve also been pleasantly surprised by the following:

  • T-Mobile has service in Los Angeles’ subway line. AT&T does not.
  • T-Mobile’s loyalty program, T-Mobile Tuesdays, has made my life materially better with free and extremely low cost promotions, like a free Frosty at Wendy’s or $2 movie tickets. Verizon’s loyalty points program offered “auctions” I could never win, or “discounts” on luxury goods that were more cheaply available elsewhere even after the discount. So from free Frosties to $2 3D IMAX tickets for “Rogue One”, I have gotten more in four months with T-Mobile than I got from Verizon in two years.
  • T-Mobile has better service at my home than Verizon.
  • T-Mobile has better service in the Los Angeles canyons, places in which cellular reception is notoriously spotty for excellent geographic reasons.

When my son and I got home from “Rogue One” last night—an expedition we could not have afforded without T-Mobile Tuesday—I shouted “T-Mobile rocks!” I estimate I get 10-20% of my bill back in Tuesday promotions every month.

Sorry, Verizon. You’ve lost me forever.

Leave a Reply

