Packing For the Cruise == Madness #amwriting

My brain creates chaos while packing...

The floor of my room looks like this now… (Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at http://FreeDigitalPhotos.net )


I love travel.

I hate packing.

I envy Tim Ferriss’s mad lightweight travel skillz—but even if I were going to live abroad for months, I’d likely still pack to live out of my luggage for a week or three. Yes, yes, unlike my mother I know that non-USA cities have toothpaste and mouthwash and even toilet paper for sale, but I’d rather have some time to scope out the local shops so that I’m not getting ripped off in tourist traps.

And since I’m not doing the lightweight, living in a hostel or couchsurfing thing, but going on a freaking cruise ship, I had better have all the socially and climatically required clothing available even if I have to use the laundromat aboard every three days.

But—how many sets of underwear? Will there be enough USA-compatible outlets in the the stateroom for both Hubby’s electronics and mine? How cold is it in the North Atlantic in September? (Pretty darn, by South California lowlands standards.) What should I wear for shipboard dining? Dancing? Swimming pool or spa? (Should I even bother? Am I too fat and too old to wear a swimsuit? If so, how can all the other old farts on the cruise stand showing up at the pool?) How can I get the ridiculous variety of dietary supplements I take past security and customs?

Then I must answer the most agonizing question of all:

Which electronics should I take and which should I leave behind? Will I get to write? Is it worthwhile schlepping the MacBook Air? Can I get by with the iPad, or should I take the iPhone as well? Is there T-Mobile data service in Greenland? (Not really, no. Not even T-Mobile covers Greenland.)

The fact that I’m in the middle of switching all my wireless devices from Verizon to T-Mobile doesn’t help. Yes, T-Mobile has vastly superior travel support, but right now I’m sweating transferring each line as it comes off Verizon contract. (T-Mobile’s offer to pay off your Early Termination Fees isn’t as good as it sounds. It only applies if you buy all new devices and trade in your old ones. I just bought the iPad Air 2 in May so I’m not trading that in, and I happen to really like my green iPhone 5c. Besides, the point of the carrier change is to save money, not spend gobs of it on new toys.)

So I’d just decided that I definitely would NOT take either phone or MacBook Air, but would schlep my iPad, its keyboard, and a Real Camera (not a DSLR, but a nice upscale point-and-shoot—the Canon Elph 190 IS.) Hubby then raised the issue with some friends as to the possibility of voice calls while we’re in Canada, and I considered the issue opened again. Finally, I decided that if Hubby wants to take voice calls in Canada on his work AT&T phone, he’s welcome to do so and work it out with his management after. The green iPhone stays in California.

So that means packing spare batteries for my noise-cancelling headphones, my Misfit Flash activity tracker, and my Logitech iPad keyboard. I’ll need a Lightning cable and charger for the iPad, and a charger for the camera battery. I’ll be working with iOS Scrivener without a net, as I don’t expect that I’ll have enough bandwidth to either sync with Dropbox regularly or save zipped backups to Google drive. Besides, I upgraded to iOS 10, and the zipped backups function of iOS Scrivener is crashing until Keith is sure that there are no further bugs related to iOS 10 and releases an update.

Foo. The good news that I’ll have even more experience using iOS Scrivener in isolation from the Mac version. If I find out any good stuff, I’ll let you know.


2 thoughts on “Packing For the Cruise == Madness #amwriting

Comments are closed.