8,630 Extra Words? Where Did THESE Come From?

Did the Word Count Fairy pay a visit? (Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

Did the Word Count Fairy pay a visit? (Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

When I left off NaNoWriMo in November, I had a paltry 4,770 words written in the Steampunk mystery I’d started. I could swear that I haven’t done anything worthy of mention with it since then, but when I looked at the word count in Scrivener just now, 13,400 words greeted me in the progress meter.

Where the heck did 8,630 words come from?

I’ll admit to doing some writing on the project in the last three months. Yet, really, I thought I’d abandoned it. I was focusing on my Mars novel — re-plotting it and getting a second draft out. But I would find a scene from the Steampunk occupying my brain, so I’d go write it down to make space for Mars…

I guess I must have done 8,630 words worth of that. At least, I don’t think that the Word Count Fairy flew in the window one night and tapped my project with her magic wand.

One thought on “8,630 Extra Words? Where Did THESE Come From?

  1. Pingback: Odds, Ends, and April Camp NaNoWriMo | A Study In Silver

Comments are closed.