Winter Blues

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ece/5434133/files/2015/01/img_0681.jpgJanuary in Southern California: the sky is mercilessly blue, heralding yet another week without our winter rains. The Santa Ana winds blow from the desert, breaking trees and desiccating city and canyons. We had two good storms in December, but that was hardly enough to break a several years’ drought. The hills are green, though; last winter they stayed brown and burnt.

I feel as parched inside as the landscape outside. I didn’t win NaNoWriMo. I’ve had the devil to pay to get any words into my project at all. I feel lucky that I managed to get a solid 770 words typed in today. I’ve had three productive days this week, after nearly two months of nothing. I hope to add another productive day tomorrow…

