Writing Productivity — Slow Improvement

2014-05-27 15.32.34“I want it all, and I want it now.” –Brian May

I’ve never been long on patience. Learning to write a novel is stretching my ability for patience to the limit, and then stretching it some more. I wanted this to be done last August. I want it done, now!

I’ve started using a timer to help me focus. Now it’s called the “Pomodoro Technique” by Francesco Cirillo, and evidently the latest thing in life hacking and time management, but it was just another tool in the ADD kit ten years ago in “ADD-Friendly Ways to Organize Your Life.” The only thing the Cirillo restatement does for me is make it easy to find free timers in the Apple App Store and the Android store.

Net result: a strange-looking novel structure diagram, above. The picture was taken two days ago; it’s closer to filled-in now. Don’t ask why it’s a semicircular fan; I have no idea, and would not recommend it. I just sat down to try one more time to outline my novel, and that’s what came out.

It’s working better than Scrivener, index cards, or sticky notes, so I’m not arguing with my subconscious.

I’ve also found a surprising source of support: my husband. I finally managed to communicate to him my need for productivity coaching and support in a way that made sense to him. So now I’m checking in every evening to state how the day’s work went, and to toss ideas around about how to be more productive. His experience as a manufacturing engineer and plant manager is priceless.

Slow as my progress is, I’m feeling much more hopeful than I have in a long time.

