GTD: Last Post (For a While)

I may come back to GTD later, but for now I think I’ve got my system:

  • Evernote. Records not unlike the ones I used to have with Franklin Planner reside here. All my one-off tasks live here. My notebook and tag system is derived from The Secret Weapon, but somewhat simpler with respect to tasks. Also, I use other notebooks besides the three they recommend because I use Evernote to hold a lot of other stuff (like novel notes) that isn’t really addressed in TSW. My email clients all feed stuff to Evernote now.
  • Pocket Informant. This is my daily control center, on my iPad. It accesses my Evernote reminders, lets me add things to my “collection” and holds my daily checklists and periodic items. I used to try to make this act like Franklin Planner, recording postponements, delegations, and formal deletion of tasks, but now I do that in…
  • Notability. Also an iPad app, I paste a screenshot from PI into a new note here every morning. I can use all my old handwritten symbols from Franklin Planner, record how my time’s actually spent (if I’m that ambitious), take daily notes, again handwritten if need be. Or if I prefer. When I’ve finished the day and am planning tomorrow, I use the “open in” feature to put this record into Evernote with appropriate tags. It duplicates effort a little bit, marking off things on the Notability note as well as in PI, but not as much as I thought it would.

I use Evernote and PI on my Android phone, but it’s an emergency measure as my poor phone (ZTE Valet) is on the slow end of the smartphone spectrum. I’m much happier on the iPad. And I do weekly advance planning on my Mac, with Evernote, Mac Calendar, and web ToodleDo.

That’s it. We’ll see if it survives when my hyperfocus on GTD vanishes (as it will. It always does.)

5 thoughts on “GTD: Last Post (For a While)

  1. For implementing GTD you can use this web-application:

    GTD Agenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, and a calendar.
    Syncs with Evernote and Google Calendar, and also comes with mobile version, and Android and iPhone apps.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the heads-up. Right now, it looks a little pricey for me, since I’m already paying for Evernote Premium, and I already have everything implemented in my current system. But if I were just starting out, or if in the future I need to switch out for a new system (it happens — I get bored. If I’m bored with a system I won’t use it) I’ll consider it.

    Like

  3. I find that I need to get back into GTD every 4 months or so. Usually when my inbox is so out of control I’m having panic attacks. 😉

    An app that gets little love but is quite good is GetItDoneApp.com, I used it on my Blackberry Playbook amongst other devices. I stopped using it when the company I worked at went to Outlook and I could roll my own GTD process within that program.

    Like

Comments are closed.