NaNoWriMo Doldrums

Screenshot 2013-11-12 16.23.00It’s the usual Week Two doldrums in NaNoWriMo, and my head is out to get me. I can’t imagine why I ever wanted to write this story. I’m convinced it’s the worst pile of manure ever to disgrace a hard drive. I envy my son, who was collaborating with a friend, and the friend pulled out, so my son is no longer doing NaNoWriMo…

And yet, there are moments when sweet inspiration flutters down and sings on my shoulder. And seeing the graph looking so much better than it did last year is gratifying. I may, just may, have learned this skill of getting though a first draft via NaNoWriMo. My thanks, folks. It took me long enough.

So yes, I will carry on, at least 1,735 words a day (okay, so I got a little behind. It’s nothing, nothing compared to the marathon catching-up I had to do last November and in July.) With any good fortune, my outline will be finished when my draft is. And I will return to learning the craft of revision. Now there’s a tough one — no cool little graphs to tell me when I’m through. But I have hope. If I can write 50,000 words (twice already) I can do anything.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Doldrums

  1. As they say, keep calm & carry on! I’m a bit behind, too, but still much farther than I was at this point in NaNo last year. We can all do this! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.