NaNoWriMo is arriving again. Crap.

20131029-145811.jpgOnce again, I have no outline, no character, no concept. My attention has been focused on a) revising my Camp NaNoWriMo novel (rough estimate, about 25% through revision) and b) life happening. Not to mention my usual angst and self-pity.

Still, I’ve managed to pull this off twice now. The result was actually better when I started with nothing than when I started with an outline. And my July novel (working title “Leticia”) is my favorite — enough so that I’m absolutely determined to get the revision done.

I’ve toyed with the idea of skipping NaNoWriMo this November, just focusing on my revision. But, dangit, I’m on a roll here. Two attempts, two 50K drafts. It’s said that one of my favorite authors, Isaac Asimov, before the days of word processors (which he refused to adopt,) had multiple typewriters, with a different work in progress on each one. If he got burned out on one, he’d just switch chairs and go to work on the next.

With that example in mind, I may well spend November both writing on the New Novel, and revising “Leticia.” It’s worth a shot.

