Never, Never, Never, Never Give Up

Nano2012I have earned no fewer than seven NaNoWriMo badges.  Please, examine them in the right sidebar.

You will note that six of those badges say “participant.” Only one says “winner.”

There were years in which I almost made it.  There were years that saw me abandoning a ten thousand word draft. There were years (2009 and 2010) when I didn’t have the courage to create an empty document. This year, I started once and abandoned my beginning (Camp NaNoWriMo).

I have dreamed of writing a novel since I was a teenager back in… well, you don’t need to know how long ago it was. I’m not an Emily Dickinson, with reams of fiction hidden from the world. No, for decades I didn’t even have the courage to scribble a bit of fiction in the back of a journal hidden in my underwear drawer.

Until 2005 and my discovery of NaNoWriMo the fiction stayed in my head, where it paced disconsolately, trapped. 2005 saw my fiction semi-released into a work-furlough program.  But the gates of prison continued to clang shut upon it, until November 2012.

My fiction has finally been paroled.

Never give up.

