The Paleo Geek

One of the more important changes in my life, one that started over two years ago, has been a profound change in my eating habits. I now follow the Paleo diet , more or less as described in Robb Wolf’s book The Paleo Solution.

A simple description: No grains. No legumes. No milk products. No kidding.

Why in the world would I choose such a discipline? The answer lies in our trip to Australia/New Zealand in August of 2010. (Oh, wait. I haven’t blogged about that. OK, photos tomorrow.) During that trip I had arthritis so bad that I could barely hobble from transportation to the sight we were about to inspect. I used a cane. In one of the world’s most beautiful wilderness parks I was unable to hike. At all. The opportunity of a lifetime, wasted.

When I came back, I was ready to do anything. I was considering starting the process of getting a rheumatology referral when a blog post about The Paleo Solution crossed my screen. I was intrigued. I went to the bookstore, browsed the book, and bought it.

What convinced me to give it a try was the description and scientific explanation of dramatically reduced inflammation. And indeed, after thirty days on Paleo, I put away my cane. I haven’t had to pick it up since.

Losing fifty pounds was just an added bonus. (For those who think that the joint relief was just weight loss, the pain was gone before I’d lost ten pounds.)

I won’t lie and say I’ve been perfect at it. But slips are self-correcting as my knees become painful, the scale creeps up, and my gut complains. Oh, yeah, time to get back on the straight and narrow.

The hardest thing to do is to stay clean when working on a movie set. Studio catering hasn’t yet twigged to Paleo; they’re still trying to mollify the militant vegans.

